Obedient Love and Loving Obedience – Part 1

We were a small group of people, meeting together to seek God about specific matters that stood as questions on the way, in reaching certain mile stones. We spent a lot of our time listening to God rather than stuffing God’s ears with our begging prayer requests. During one of the many ‘listening to God’ times, I had my eyes closed and suddenly realized that I just entered a tall standing slightly opened door. The room had huge walls in its heights and its lengths and it was pretty much empty. As soon as I entered the room, I was caught by the heavy presence of reverence. My legs felt like two paper clips pulled towards some powerful magnetic floor. I fell to the floor and slowly tried to crawl on all fours. To the far left corner, opposite to where I crawled, were a simple small wooden round table and a simple high-back wooden chair. The back of the chair faced me. In front of the table and chair stood about five or six saints. They were discussing something serious with the one who was sitting on that wooden chair. I tried to crawl quietly with much effort to the nearby wall to wait until the meeting with the saints was over. The reverence and the holiness in the room were just too much to bear.

Then suddenly the one who sat on the high-back wooden chair with his back towards me turned his face to my direction as if my presence there disturbed him. He looked at me and snapped, “Who are you and how dare you come in here?” I was petrified. With my head bowed low, I stammered back, “Lord, dare I not speak, but I am washed in the blood of Jesus”. As if this answer was the right pass word to access that room, he asked me calmly, “what do you want?” I said, “I need help, I need your help.”

He did not say if he will help me or not help me. He did not even bother about my need of help. He simply spoke softly with a heavy heart, “My people, they love me, they worship me, they say a lot about me, they do so many things to me, but they don’t obey me.” The heaviness of this heart was unbearable. It pierced through my heart. I wanted to carry his load to relieve him of his insufferable torture just for a little while. I stood there letting this burden captivate me. I wanted to feel what he feels. It was horribly heavy to bear those feelings even for a few seconds!

These verses were pounding loud as my heart began to race:

1Jn 5:3 This is love for God: to obey his commands. And his commands are not burdensome.

vs. 2 This is how we know that we love the children of God: by loving God and carrying out his commands.

1Jn 3:22, 24 we have confidence before God and receive from him anything we ask, because we obey his commands and do what pleases him.

Those who obey his commands live in him, and he in them.

John, who was known as “the disciple whom Jesus loved” knew what it takes to love God. Loving God and loving one another without obeying his commands is pseudo love. Love AND obedience to the commands of Jesus are the two sides of the coin. Only one side without the other is not a valid coin.

1Jn 2:3 We know that we have come to know him if we obey his commands.

7 comments

  1. Mercy, thank you for sharing this. I read this two days ago and today I heard you on the CD from the conference in Konstanz. It touched me even more. This is really heavy and it’s worth every teardrop.

    I believe that we also need to understand that disobedience affects people arround us more than we think…(e.g. the head controls our movements, if there is a disconnection or malefunktion, the body becomes cribbled, aren’t we the body?)

  2. Amen, I am in a place of listening to him and obeying. In the physical what I am doing looks wrong. The only confirmation I have is his voice and the fruit (love, forbearance, self-control, etc.). He says my biggest task each day is to be calm – still in him. That when told to be still, that more is accomplished in obeying that than doing what I might think in some other “religious” activity.

    Others (loved ones) now speak against my obedience. They say the little manna I get is not proof. That as a family of five……

    They acknowledge their slander but don’t repent of it. When I tell them I must withdraw they say we are too absolute. That we don’t love the brethren, that we don’t forebear – not realizing it causes us to suffer when we obey our Lord in this (to honor him). A dead man can’t be slandered, but a dead man can love his brother by helping him clean his eye.

    P.S. doing his commandments is hearing him. Our daily bread his to hear him speak to us to guide us (it is not physical provision but spiritual for our food is to do his will, for he is the bread of life). His sheep hear his voice. His silence when listened to as you have does the most in us – we partake in the divine nature.

  3. Wow Mercy this sounds like an amazing vision!

    The revelation of doing Jesus’ commandments has really been dawning on me recently – There is a good list of them here > http://www.wowzone.com/commandm.htm i I’m thinking it might be healthy to memorise them all!

    Also, I’m new to the house church revelation and very inspired – we have a small crew who are searching for The Truth and it’s been a great journey so far but we know we have a long way to go!

    Wolfgang’s book was a massive inspiration to me and I’ve been trying to find recent work from him but it appears his website hasn’t been updated for a few years, Starfish portal is down and he doesn’t have a blog or twitter etc. Is he ok?

    God bless you both

    1. Thank you James, for the very useful link.
      Yes, Starfish portal is down but will be up someday.
      Wolf is doing ok, getting ready for the next phase in his mission. Thanks for asking.
      Blessings,
      Mercy.

  4. Awesome vision! A much needed word for today. It is sad that preaching obedience and holiness is considered by some to be legalism . Equally sad are those who, when confronted with sin, say that they are not under the law but under grace.

    1. For example, Jesus commands to the eleven disciples during the last supper, Jn 15:9b-11 “…remain in my love. {how?} If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love. I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete.” Jesus himself says, “if you obey MY commands…” So there are commands of Jesus spread out in the four gospels. Some are addressed to individuals like Simon Peter, and some to a large crowd and some to a group of disciples and some to the twelve disciples etc.

Leave a Reply

