Should Christians Be Circumcised? Part 1

Col 2:11 In him you were also circumcised, in the putting off of the sinful nature, not with a circumcision done by the hands of men but with the circumcision done by Christ.

We sing about this, preach about this, do Bible studies on this and graduate in our exams. What does it really mean to be circumcised in Jesus with the circumcision done by Christ? Circumcision is a covenant made to Abraham by God when he was 99 years old. You can read the origin of circumcision in Gen 17:1-14

What was the covenant all about? The Lord appeared to Abram and said, “I am God Almighty, walk before me and be blameless.”  To walk before God, to stand before him and to serve such a God is not easy. All our human frailties, weaknesses, failings and indecision are stripped naked in front of Him. There is nothing to boast about one’s Self. No flesh can stand such a presence. There is nothing left in us to glory before such a being, “I am God Almighty”. It makes your feet to melt like wax and you of course fall face down – even faint or die.

What to make sense of the being – “God Almighty”?

I will confirm my covenant between me and you.

I will greatly increase your numbers.

I will make you very fruitful.

I will make nations of you.

I will make kings come from you.

I will establish my covenant as an everlasting covenant.

I will be your God.

I will be the God of your descendants after you.

I will give the whole land of Canaan, as an everlasting possession to you and your descendants after you.

I will be their God.

The only sense to make out of this is: I WILL

I WILL MAKE YOU – AND IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH YOU!

Today, there are many who say, “we are”, “we will”, “we do”, “we stand” “we make it happen” but few who walk before him. One of my favorite verses that often challenge me is Ge 5:24 Enoch walked with God; then he was no more, because God took him away. This is what it means to walk before God and with God: you are “no more”! The call of God to the ultimate walk with him, in total perfection is the challenge that we need to decide about in our hearts. When we do this, He will do that because he has said, “I WILL” and it has nothing to do with “we will”. I will because I am God Almighty and you are not.

Paul could have boasted and rightly so about himself. He had all the true reasons to put confidence in his flesh but he knew the One with whom he walked. He was circumcised with the circumcision done by Christ. He was able to say: “For me to live is Christ and to die is gain”. “I no longer live, but Christ lives in me”. This is the 24/7 lifestyle of the circumcised.

Question still is: Are we circumcised with the circumcision done by Christ?

To be continued.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

